Alumni news: Lasker Award for Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Congratulations to Franz-Ulrich Hartl from the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany for receiving the 2011 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award. He receives the award with Arthur L. Horwich from Yale University for their pioneering work on the cellular protein folding machinery.

Franz-Ulrich Hartl currently holds an HFSP Program Grant with Richard Morimoto of Northwestern University, Evanston, USA and Kazuhiro Nagata from Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan on "Cell Stress and Proteostasis Dysfunction in Aging and Disease". In addition, he has been host supervisor to several HFSP postdoctoral fellows.