HFSP alumni among the new Fellows of the Royal Society

Alumni news: Congratulations to Doreen Cantrell, Joanne Chory, John Morton and Patrick Tam  on their election to the Royal Society.

Doreen Cantrell is Professor of Cellular Immunology, Wellcome Principal Research Fellow and Head of the College of Life Sciences at the University of Dundee, UK. She received an HFSP Research Grant in 1995 on "Role of S6 phosphorylation in regulating translation" with George Thomas (Cincinatti, USA), Harry Noller (Santa Cruz, USA) and Nahum Sonenberg (McGill University, Montreal, Canada).

Joanne Chory is Professor and Director of the Plant Molecular and Cellular Biology Laboratory, Howard H. and Maryam R. Newman Chair at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, San Diego, USA. She coordinated an HFSP Research Grant in 1992 on "Isolation and analysis of photoreceptor mutants in higher plants" with Akira Ngatani from Kyoto University, Japan and collaborated on a 2001 grant on "Regulation of steroid hormone biosynthesis and signaling in plants" with Gerard Bishop (Imperial College London, UK), Takao Yokota (Teikyo University, Japan) and Csaba Koncz (MPI for Plant Bredding Research, Cologne, Germany). She has also supervised 10 HFSP Long-Term fellows. Joanne Chory was elected as a Foreign Member of the Royal Society.

John Morton,   Professor at UCL Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, London, UK,  was awarded an HFSP Research Grant in 1995 on “Processing consequences of contrasting language phonologies”  with Jacques Mehler (International School of Advanced Studies, Trieste, Italy), Giyoo Hatano (Keio University, Tokyo, Japan), Nuria Sebastian-Galles (University of Barcelona, Spain), Anne Cutler (Nijmegen, Netherlands) and Isabelle Peretz (University of Montreal, Canada).

Patrick Tam is Deputy Director and Senior Principal Research Fellow, Children’s Medical Research Institute and Professor, Sydney Medical School, The University of Sydney, Australia.  He collaborated with Richard Behringer (The University of Texas, Houston, USA), Hiroshi Sasaki (Osaka University, Japan) and Siew-Lan Ang (NIMR, London, UK) on the project “The organizer and axis formation in the mouse” which was funded by a 1996 HFSP Research Grant.