HFSP Alumni elected as EMBO Members

Alumni news: 17 former HFSP awardees, including 7 HFSP Fellows, are among the 48 European scientists to have been elected this year as Members of EMBO, the European Molecular Biology Organisation. Among the new European Members are also Lucia Banci and Jane Clarke, who have served on HFSP review committees. In addition, two of the three Associate Members from outside Europe are HFSP alumni, having served on the HFSP review committees (Narry Kim from Korea and Ruth Lehmann from Israel). This honour is conferred in "recognition of the commitment to research excellence and the exceptional achievements made by a life scientist." Congratulations to all!

Former HFSP Long-Term Fellows among the European members are:

Cedric Blanpain
Free University of Brussels, Belgium

Francesco Cecconi
University "Tor Vergata" and IRCCS Fondazione Santa Lucia, Rome, Italy

Michel Labouesse
Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), Illkirch, France

Nancy Papalopulu
University of Manchester, UK

Thomas Preat
ESPCI ParisTech, Paris, France

Francois Schweisguth
Institute Pasteur, Paris, France

Luca Scorrano
University of Geneva, Switzerland

Former grant awardeees elected as EMBO Members:

Monsef Benkirane
CNRS Institute of Human Genetics, Montpellier, France

Paula Bovolenta
Centre for Molecular Biology "Severo Ochoa", Madrid, Spain

Fabrizio d'Adda di Fagagna
IFOM - European Institute of Oncology, Milan, Italy

Ludger Johannes
Institut Curie, Paris, France

Kai Johnsson
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland

Andreas Ladurner
Ludwigs Maximilian University, Munich, Germany

Nils-Goran Larrson
Max Planck Institute for the Biology of Ageing, Cologne, Germany

Laura Machesky
Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, Glasgow, UK

Thomas Surrey
Cancer Research UK, London, UK

Sabine Werner
Institute of Molecular Health Services, Zurich, Switzerland