HFSP Alumni elected to the National Academy of Sciences, USA

Alumni news: 12 current or former HFSP awardees have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, USA. Congratulations to the 10 new members and 2 foreign associates, who are among the 72 new members and 18 foreign associates.


Harry C. Dietz III;  Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and Victor A. McKusick Professor of Genetics and Medicine, McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Departments of Medicine, Pediatrics, and Molecular Biology and Genetics, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore

Michael S. Gazzaniga;  Director, Sage Center for the Study of the Mind, University of California, Santa Barbara

Michael E. Goldberg; David Mahoney Professor of Brain and Behavior, and Director, Mahoney Center for Mind and Brain, Columbia University College of Physicians, New York City

John E. Heuser; Professor of Biophysics, Department of Cell Biology and Physiology, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis

Robert C. Malenka; Pritzker Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and Director, Nancy Friend Pritzker Laboratory, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, Calif.

J. Andrew McCammon; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and John E. Mayer Chair of Theoretical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla

Susan K. McConnell; Susan B. Ford Professor, Department of Biology, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

Ira S. Mellman; Vice-President of Research Oncology, Genentech Inc., South San Francisco, Calif.

Michel C. Nussenzweig; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and Sherman Fairchild Professor and Senior Physician, Department of Molecular Immunology, Rockefeller University, New York City

Boris I. Shraiman; Suzan F. Gurley Professor of Theoretical Physics and Biology, and Permanent Member, Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara

Foreign Associates:

Anders Björklund; Professor and Section Chief, Wallenberg Neuroscience Center, Department of Experimental Medical Science, Lund University, Lund, Sweden

Franz-Ulrich Hartl; Director, Department of Cellular Biochemistry, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany (Germany)