Two HFSP grant recipients honored with major science prizes

Congratulations from the entire HFSP community to Pascale Cossart and Thomas C. Südhof for receiving two very prestigious scientific prizes.

Pascale Cossart (Institut Pasteur, Paris), a 2013 HFSP research grant awardee, was awarded the 2013 Balzan Prize for her seminal discoveries on the molecular biology of pathogenic bacteria and their interaction with host cells.

For more information on the Balzan Prize go to

Thomas C. Südhof (Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford), 1995 HFSP research grant recipient, was honored with the 2013 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award. He shares the award with Richard H. Scheller for their discoveries concerning the molecular machinery and regulatory mechanism that underlie the rapid release of neurotransmitters.

For more information on the Lasker Awards go to