Two more HFSP alumni win Nobel Prizes

Our warmest congratulations go to two HFSP alumni for receiving the 2014 Nobel Prize.

Professor John O’Keefe received the 2014 prize in Physiology or Medicine (shared with May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser) "for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain". Professor O’Keefe participated in an eight member 1994 HFSP grant team (from the UK, France, Switzerland, Norway and the USA) led by Richard Morris studying “The role of hippocampal synaptic plasticity in learning and memory”.

Professor Stefan Hell shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014 (jointly with Eric Betzig and William E. Moerner) "for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy". Professor Hell was a member of a 2010 HFSP Program grant team (from France, Germany and the USA) led by Valentin Nägerl studying “Nanoscale photoactivation and imaging of synaptic physiology”.

It is particularly pleasing that the two latest laureates bring the total of Nobel Prize winners supported by HFSP, years before receiving this prestigious award, to 25 in the year of our 25th anniversary. It reflects on the quality of the selection process whereby our international review panels seek to support excellence in frontier research using interdisciplinary approaches in the life sciences. HFSP is convinced that the achievements of this year's nobelists will inspire many more scientists in the years to come.