UK New Year Honours for HFSP Alumni

Congratulations to Venki Ramakrishnan from the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Trevor Robbins of the University of Cambridge Behavioural and Clinical Neuroscience Institute and Department of Experimental Psychology for being honoured in the 2012 New Year's Honours List.

Venki Ramakrishnan was honoured with a Knighthood for services to molecular biology. He received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2009 for his work on the structure and function of the ribosome and is one of the 18 HFSP alumni who went on to receive the Nobel Prize. He has twice received HFSP research grants.

Trevor Robbins was honoured with a CBE for services to medical research. He participated in a 1993 research grant on "Amygdala subsystems and cognitive function in rats and monkeys" and has served on the review committee for HFSP Fellowships.