Thursday 29th March 2012

We are happy to see institutions publicising their scientists' prestigious HFSP awards! We list below those that have come to our attention via Twitter, Facebook or Google Alerts. We have probably missed some, so please send us links to any announcements that are not listed below (send to We will add new links as we find them. Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) grant to DanStem Professor Joshua Brickman - The Danish Stem Cell Center, University of Copenhagen, Denmark...


Monday 26th March 2012

HFSP is pleased to announce the 2012 Research Grant, Fellowship and Career Development Awards. For the lists of awardees approved by the Board of Trustees on March 23rd see HERE


Wednesday 15th February 2012

Congratulations to Susan M. Gasser for recognition of her outstanding scientific work and for her role in mentoring female scientists by receiving the 2012 FEBS/EMBO Women in Science Award. Susan Gasser is a member of the HFSP alumni community, having received HFSP Research Grants in 1991 and 1996, acting as host supervisor for 4 HFSP postdoctoral Fellows and serving on the review committee for HFSP Research Grants from 2003-2005. 


Wednesday 8th February 2012

Alumni news: Congratulations to Jean Rossier and Moshe Yaniv for receving the life-time achievement "Mentoring in Science" award from Nature. Jean Rossier and Moshe Yaniv are both HFSP alumni, having been awarded research grants in 1994 and 2001, respectively. Jean Rossier was a member of the HFSP Council of Scientists from 1995-1999. Moshe Yaniv served on the HFSP Fellowship Review Committee from 1997-2000. 


Tuesday 7th February 2012

Web update: Mariano Sigman returned to Argentina after his HFSP fellowship and obtained a Career Development Award to help set up the first lab in the country devoted to cognitive neuroscience. In this article in the "HFSP success story" series he describes the challenges and success of his career.


Thursday 12th January 2012

The cycle for 2013 grant applications (applications in March 2012 for awards to be announced in March 2013) is open. Preparatory documents are available HERE. The website for online applications is now open. Please see the GUIDELINES for information on submitting letters of intent.


Wednesday 4th January 2012

Congratulations to Venki Ramakrishnan from the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Trevor Robbins of the University of Cambridge Behavioural and Clinical Neuroscience Institute and Department of Experimental Psychology for being honoured in the 2012 New Year's Honours List. Venki Ramakrishnan was honoured with a Knighthood for services to molecular biology. He received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2009 for his work on the structure and function of the ribosome and is one of...


Friday 9th December 2011

The cycle for 2013 grant applications (applications in March 2012 for awards to be announced in March 2013) is now open. Preparatory documents are available HERE


Thursday 8th December 2011

Congratulations to Michael Brecht and Matthias Mann for the award of the 2012 Leibniz Prize from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. The Leibniz Prize is the most important award to individual scientists in Germany. It will be conferred upon the prize winners in a ceremony to be held on February 27th in Berlin. Michael Brecht is at the Bernstein Institute for Computational Neuroscience and the Humboldt University, Berlin. He participated in an HFSP Program Grant team awarded in 2004, together...


Wednesday 7th December 2011

Former HFSP Long-Term Fellow and Career Development Awardee Henrik Ehrsson from the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden is the subject of a profile in NatureNews called "Out-of-body experience: Master of illusion". Henrik is also featured on the HFSP web site with an HFSP success story article on Body Self Perception