Monday 27th June 2011

You can access these via the HFSP extranet. See GUIDELINES for access details.


Monday 30th May 2011

The first HFSP alumni meeting to be held in Europe will take place on  Friday, 9 September 2011 at the Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP) in Vienna.  The meeting has been scheduled for  the day before the EMBO meeting (10 -13 September) and therefore, HFSP alumni attending the EMBO meeting and those based in Austria will be able to attend.  Registration is limited to 80 participants and is open to all HFSP alumni in the alumni meetings section on...


Friday 20th May 2011

Alumni news: Congratulations to Doreen Cantrell, Joanne Chory, John Morton and Patrick Tam  on their election to the Royal Society. Doreen Cantrell is Professor of Cellular Immunology, Wellcome Principal Research Fellow and Head of the College of Life Sciences at the University of Dundee, UK. She received an HFSP Research Grant in 1995 on "Role of S6 phosphorylation in regulating translation" with George Thomas (Cincinatti, USA), Harry Noller (Santa Cruz, USA) and Nahum Sonenberg...


Thursday 12th May 2011

Web update: How does water interact with biological molecules? In an HFSP-funded grant, Martina Havenith and colleagues investigated water-biomolecule interactions using the new method of Terahertz spectroscopy and discovered a water phase distinct from that bound directly to proteins and to bulk water.


Wednesday 4th May 2011

Alumni news: 12 current or former HFSP awardees have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, USA. Congratulations to the 10 new members and 2 foreign associates, who are among the 72 new members and 18 foreign associates. Members: Harry C. Dietz III;  Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and Victor A. McKusick Professor of Genetics and Medicine, McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Departments of Medicine, Pediatrics, and Molecular Biology and Genetics,...


Wednesday 20th April 2011

Alumni news: former HFSP Long-Term Fellow Simon Boulton has been awarded the 2011 EMBO Gold Medal for his groundbreaking studies on DNA repair mechanisms. Simon received an HFSP Fellowship in 1998 to work with Nicholas Dyson at the MGH Cancer Centre at the Masachussetts General Hospital. After a second postdoc with Marc Vidal at the Dana Farber Cancer Centre, Harvard Medical School, he joined Cancer Research UK as a group leader in 2002. He was promoted to Senior Scientist in 2007. The EMBO Gold...


Tuesday 19th April 2011

Congratulations to Cori Bargmann and Catherine Dulac for the award of the 11th Perl-UNC Neuroscience Prize for their "Discovery of chemosensory circuits that regulate social behaviors." Cori Bargmann has received three research grants from HFSP in 1992, 1997 and 2001. Catherine Dulac has supervised three HFSP postdoctoral fellows. From the press release issued by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: "Dr. Dulac discovered receptors for pheromones, molecules that allow...


Wednesday 6th April 2011

Website update: report from the 2010 HFSP Awardees Meeting on the plenary lecture by Svante Paabo on his work on ancient DNA.


Tuesday 5th April 2011

Nominations are invited for the 2012 HFSP Nakasone Award. This award is given to scientists who have made breakthroughs of fundamental importance in basic biological research. More information and access to the nomination forms are available HERE.


Thursday 31st March 2011

The 2011 HFSP Nakasone Award has been conferred on Michael Elowitz of Caltech for his pioneering work on gene expression noise. For more information see HERE