Thursday 14th March 2013

Starting in March the New York based Foundation Center is offering a series of grant writing workshops and seminars. The aim of these hands on courses is to provide proposal training for targeting philanthropic funding programs. Unlike applications for domestic funding organizations, proposals for third sector programs have to be pitched in a very different way. No two proposals are alike because foundations or charities have very different philosophies and goals. For more on this course and the...


Friday 22nd February 2013

The call for nominations for the 2014 Nakasone award is open. This is an annual HFSP award highlighting ground-breaking contributions in the life sciences. Nominations should consider breakthroughs, including experimental, conceptual and technological contributions, in our understanding of the complex mechanisms of living organisms that have important consequences for scientists throughout the world. Further information on the Nakasone Award and the nomination form is available here.



Friday 25th January 2013

The conference on the imaging of cell membranes at a high resolution will bring together a group of world-leading scientists covering different methodological approaches to discuss fundamental molecular mechanisms that govern nanostructures and protein function relationships at the cell membrane. The symposium will cover topics related to the organization of the plasma membrane at the nanoscale, the role of proteins and lipids in signal transduction, and the cortical actin cytoskeleton in organizing...


Tuesday 22nd January 2013



Wednesday 16th January 2013

The website to register a letter of intent for the 2014 HFSP Research Grants is open. First, interested teams must register online by 20 March 2013 before submitting their letter of intent by the deadline on 27 March 2013. Full information on the 2014 competition is available here.


Friday 11th January 2013

From the jury’s citation: “Satyajit Mayor’s earliest independent contributions were to define the nanoscale organization of GPI-linked proteins using fluorescence anisotropy, showing that these proteins exist in small (tens of nanometers) clusters, fundamentally clarifying the way in which membrane ‘rafts’ are now understood. He then went on to show that these microdomains are organized by actin and are endocytosed by a novel pathway that is clathrin- and dynamin-independent...


Wednesday 9th January 2013

HFSP wishes all awardees and the members of our committees a happy and prosperous new year 2013! Also we want to use the opportunity to recognize the work and effort of the peer reviewers. In 2012 a total of 708 reviewers from 34 different countries were involved in reviewing applications and selecting HFSP awards. We are very grateful for your support and look forward to working with all of you in selecting exciting frontier projects in 2013.


Friday 14th December 2012

The October 2012 issue of Current Opinion in Structural Biology (Vol. 22, Issue 5) contains a forward look on biophysical methods. HFSP awardees and alumni contributed reviews in great numbers to this highlight: Ilme Schlichting (RG 1994 & 2001) together with Jianwei Miao on Emerging opportunities in structural biology with X-ray free-electron lasers; pages 613-626 Gabriel C Lander, Helen R Saibil (RG 2003) & Eva Nogales (RG 2008) suggest to Go hybrid: EM, crystallography, and beyond; pages...