Wednesday 16th May 2012

Alumni news: 17 former HFSP awardees, including 7 HFSP Fellows, are among the 48 European scientists to have been elected this year as Members of EMBO, the European Molecular Biology Organisation. Among the new European Members are also Lucia Banci and Jane Clarke, who have served on HFSP review committees. In addition, two of the three Associate Members from outside Europe are HFSP alumni, having served on the HFSP review committees (Narry Kim from Korea and Ruth Lehmann from Israel).&...


Thursday 3rd May 2012

Tony Kouzarides is Royal Society Napier Professor, The Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge. He received an HFSP Research Grant in 1998 on "RNA polymerase transcription factor TFIID: roles in transcriptional regulation, messenger RNA processing and cell cycle control" with Irvin Davidson (IGBMC, Illkirch, France), Michael Meisterernst (GSF, Munich, Germany), Peter Anthony Weil (Vanderbilt University, Nashville (USA) and Marc Timmers (University Medical Centre, Utrecht...


Monday 23rd April 2012

Nominations are invited for the 2013 HFSP Nakasone Award. This award is given to scientists who have made breakthroughs of fundamental importance in basic biological research. More information and access to the nomination forms are available HERE. DEADLINE May 4th 2012 has now passed. Nominations are no longer being accepted.


Thursday 19th April 2012

After the resounding success of the JSPS-HFSP Career Day in 2011, the two funding organizations decided to take the next step by inviting students in two major Japanese research institutions for a second Career Day. The first event will take place at Kyoto University on 16 May 2012; this is followed by an event at the Tokyo Institute of Technology on 18 May 2012. The invited speakers will present funding opportunities for postdoctoral researchers in the Asia-Pacific region, Europe and the United...


Monday 2nd April 2012

We are delighted to announce the election of neuroscientist and cell biologist, Prof. Nobutaka Hirokawa as President and Chair of the Board of Trustees. He took office on April 1st 2012. He succeeds the eminent theoretical physicist, Prof. Akito Arima, who served as President from April 2009 to March 2012.


Thursday 29th March 2012

We are happy to see institutions publicising their scientists' prestigious HFSP awards! We list below those that have come to our attention via Twitter, Facebook or Google Alerts. We have probably missed some, so please send us links to any announcements that are not listed below (send to We will add new links as we find them. Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) grant to DanStem Professor Joshua Brickman - The Danish Stem Cell Center, University of Copenhagen, Denmark...


Monday 26th March 2012

HFSP is pleased to announce the 2012 Research Grant, Fellowship and Career Development Awards. For the lists of awardees approved by the Board of Trustees on March 23rd see HERE


Wednesday 15th February 2012

Congratulations to Susan M. Gasser for recognition of her outstanding scientific work and for her role in mentoring female scientists by receiving the 2012 FEBS/EMBO Women in Science Award. Susan Gasser is a member of the HFSP alumni community, having received HFSP Research Grants in 1991 and 1996, acting as host supervisor for 4 HFSP postdoctoral Fellows and serving on the review committee for HFSP Research Grants from 2003-2005. 


Wednesday 8th February 2012

Alumni news: Congratulations to Jean Rossier and Moshe Yaniv for receving the life-time achievement "Mentoring in Science" award from Nature. Jean Rossier and Moshe Yaniv are both HFSP alumni, having been awarded research grants in 1994 and 2001, respectively. Jean Rossier was a member of the HFSP Council of Scientists from 1995-1999. Moshe Yaniv served on the HFSP Fellowship Review Committee from 1997-2000. 


Tuesday 7th February 2012

Web update: Mariano Sigman returned to Argentina after his HFSP fellowship and obtained a Career Development Award to help set up the first lab in the country devoted to cognitive neuroscience. In this article in the "HFSP success story" series he describes the challenges and success of his career.